Workout at the Beach

I just spent a week at the beach with my family. I started out strong like everyone who takes a vacation and exercises on a regular basis.  Most will exercise with gusto the first and second day of vacation. Then something sets in and the rest of the week goes by without any exercising. That is the norm.

My first morning I took one of my daughters and went for a walk. On that walk we found some coconuts so we picked them up. With the entire shell on them there was some weight to them. We continued our walk and used the coconuts to exercise while walking and had a great time laughing at peoples reactions to us.  While walking we did overhead presses, bicep curls, overhead triceps extensions, chest presses, shoulders and abdominals.

The next morning when I woke up I decided to do a beach workout. I incorporated squats, push ups, along with combining squats with overhead presses, bicep curls, triceps extensions, and bent over rows.

On the third day I rented a surfboard for the rest of the week. Unfortunately there were not waves so I got out and paddled against the current. That increased my heartrate and I got a great arm workout. On the few little waves I was able to ride in on my knees. I am still slow at getting up but had fun.

As the week wore on I did my beach workout and then paddled every day two to three times a day.  I even got my daughter to get on the board with me. When I was sitting on the beach I was able to dig my heals into the sand and perform leg presses and hamstring curls. In the evenings the entire family went for long beach walks. Even without having my hand weights available I was able to get in a fun workout daily.

Use what is around you daily when on vacation and you wont have to miss one of your workouts.

Leave a Reply

