Passing The Hat

Passing The Hat

I

I have been knitting for over 30 years now and have been donating items such as blankets, scarves and lately hats. Since I moved to Dallas I have been concentrating on hats for the homeless and thanks to my friend Bekkie, hats for children on chemo.

After visiting Baylors new cancer center in downtown Dallas I was very intrigued with their education center. I asked about teaching a knitting class to cancer survivors and patients to make knit hats. They loved the idea and the program “Passing The Hat” was formed.

My very first week I was able to teach casting on and the knit stitch. The ladies that attended this session were all cancer survivors and wanted to give back. Trying to learn knitting basics and chatting about their cancers and treatments became a bit overwhelming for some of them. Luckily one woman was using a loom to make her hats and I became extremely intrigued.

The ladies wanted to meet again in two weeks. In the meantime I went to the local craft store and purchased a loom for myself to make some hats.  Using the loom was much easier for teaching and chatting at the same time. When we met again we all used the looms and everyone including myself loved it.

So far more than a dozen hats have been donated to other cancer patients. In the near future I plan on bringing this to other cancer facilities to encourage cancer survivors to give back by making hats to pass on to current cancer patients.

You don’t have to be a survivor to join us. We will be meeting at downtown Baylor cancer center in the education room the second and fourth Tuesday of the month starting in July, from 9:30-10:45. Bring a loom and yarn if you have and bring a friend.

We are looking for contributions of soft yarn and round looms for adults. Any questions I can be reached at 972 672 5381.

Leave a Reply

