Knitting with a purpose

Knitting with a purpose

It was back in the beginning of December that I volunteered at The Stew Pot to feed the homeless. It was a cold winter day. I was back in the kitchen where it was warm and was watching the people waiting patiently outside for their turn to come in and get fed. I was amazed at how many did not have their heads covered with a hood or hat.

My quest started that afternoon knitting hats for the homeless. By Christmas I had a dozen knitted and donated them. My goal for 2010 is to knit a minimum of 100 hats and hopefully knit more.

On face book I found a friend that I have not seen since high school. We were not friends back then but she is now here in the Dallas area and  I decided to contact her. I am glad I did. At first I was hesitant because thinking back to those high school days we did not run in the same circles. Did she want to see me? I figured what would the word scenario be? She would say no, but she didn’t.

 I found out that she was staying here because her daughter is going through cancer treatment.  She is in Dallas by herself and has no support group except for the social worker that the hospital has. I was thrilled to meet with her and catch up the many years since high school, and meet her daughter. She is a really sweet kid. I thought to myself what could I bring for a 10 year old girl that would keep her busy and not be placed on the shelf with the many other items that she has to keep her busy.

I stopped at Joann’s and picked up a pair of knitting needles and some yarn. I was going to teach her how to knit.  I also brought along a hat that I made for her figuring she is on chemo and has probably lost most of her hair.  She has lost some of it and it is still falling out.  She loved the hat. She took to knitting very quickly and fell in love with it. In one day she knitted herself a scarf.

 I told her what I was doing for the homeless and a light bulb went off in her head. She is going to knit hats for kids with cancer. I will be sharing my pattern with her when I see her this Monday. As I was sitting and watching TV I thought I can give her a head start. With some of my softer yarns I started to knit some hats for kids. I figured when she goes back into the hospital on Tuesday she can hand out some hats.  For each hat that I knit for now on there will be one for the homeless and one for kids with cancer.  I still get to do what I love which is knitting and can help two different groups at the same time.

I am always looking for yarn donations. I want  to help my new friend get started. Who knows when I visit her in the hospital on Tuesday I may be able to teach another child to knitJ

Leave a Reply

