Are you a creature of habit?

I attended two networking meetings yesterday and as always someone  will ask me something about nutrition. They were telling me what they eat during the day and told me that they were getting bored eating the same thing day after day. After listening to what they were eating I did make some suggestions about changing up some of their flavorings to add a little zest to what they were eating.

I then began to think about myself because I get up each morning and have the same thing every morning except Sundays. I am not bored. My protein shake is quick and easy and I can take it with me on the go. I love strawberries so that is what I add in for flavoring every morning. I save Sunday mornings to make myself waffles with a mix that I can use. I also do love leftovers so I can eat the same thing for three days in a row and not bat an eye.

The other evening I made fish and just took the fish in a pan with one tablespoon of olive oil and cooked it along with fresh green beans and a small sweet potato. My husband came home and said how boring. He took the same fish and spun his magic with spices and salsa. He had rice with his and the green beans. I guess I like simple without spices. I grew up eating fresh fruit and vegetables with nothing on them so I do like the natural flavors.

Each one of us likes something a little different. Take a chance and spice up your foods with some different flavorings. Even if you are eating the same thing day after day. Try to add in different side dishes so that you wont get bored.

The same thing goes for your exercise routines. Your muscles will get used to the same exercises you do day after day so change it up. Try something that you have not tried before. Challenge yourself to something new.

I found this topic very interesting because I am one to get bored very easily. I need something new and challenging almost daily. Maybe that is why I have so many hobbies. I can’t do the same thing day after day. Food is another story with me. Maybe because I am so limited with what I can eat that I just don’t think about it anymore I just eat what I am able to so dont you fall into the same old same old. Try something new:)

Leave a Reply

