Encouraging individuals to exercise

Encouraging individuals to exercise
As I volunteered at a soup kitchen today I was watching individuals waiting on line in the cold and drizzle. Thank goodness almost all had coats but not all had hats. As I sit and watch TV inside my warm home I decided to start knitting hats to donate to those homeless individuals out in the cold.
It is Tuesday evening and what else is on TV but The Biggest Loser. I watched the contestants on last weeks show go home and encourage others to exercise. I do commend them for wanting to encourage others to become healthier but I guess my biggest complaint is them instructing people who have no idea how to exercise and no one watching their form. I get so frustrated because I hate to see anyone become injured for no reason. Just a small body adjustment will help prevent needless injury and sore muscles.
The challenge this week was for the last four to run a marathon. Oh my gosh! It took six months to train for the one I ran. Here the brilliant trainers Jillian and Bob tell these individuals who have not run more than 13 miles at any one time to go and run a marathon which is 26.2 miles. One of the contestants was in as they stated in pain with their hips and knees. Another was in pain with her knees but encouraged to keep running by a previous contestant. Where are these people’s brains? Don’t they realize the damage that they can be doing to their bodies. It took me 2 days of very tender muscles to recover from the 26.2 miles and I was well trained and stretched plenty.
I guess that this show will not show us these four one and two days after this marathon. They will be all teary eyed stating how proud they are of themselves for finishing. I do believe in pushing oneself but be realistic. If there is pain involved your body is telling you something. For those of you who want to run a marathon do your proper training and listen to your body. Don’t allow someone else tell you that you don’t have to listen to your body and to keep going through your pain. That is just pure stupidity!!
Ellen Miller is the owner and CEO of IsoBreathing Inc. She founded the business originally called Body Shaping Inc. in 1994 when she moved to Louisiana. The company was renamed IsoBreathing Inc. in 2002.
Ellen is a certified Fitness Practitioner and Personal Trainer and has been teaching obtainable lifestyle changes for over 20 years.
Ellen writes and produces fitness DVD’s , CD’s, and Booklets of the IsoBreathing program. All are now being sold through the IsoBreathing website http://www.isobreathing.com world wide.

Leave a Reply

