We have heard it all before but are we following it

We have all heard it from friends, personal trainers, doctors but who really follows this. I am giving it a try because as I have aged I have found my body going through different things. I have become more tired than usual, and a small amount of weight gain that I am not comfortable with. After speaking with my physician and going through a few lab tests it was suggested that I try to get off of white foods, whole wheat, eggs, dairy, nuts, and corn products, so it was my decision to eliminate these items.

With only one week into this program following it as best I can I am not quite feeling or seeing a big difference in how I am feeling as of yet. I know that this will take time. I will stick with this because I made it my decision versus this is something that my doctor says I have to do.

I would love to hear from you if you have any suggestions on recipes.

One week off of the white foods and I have lost 2 pounds and 4 1/4 inches. Of course I would lose because I am off of all my junk foods. I am still wanting sugar but I am substituting home made raisins for sweetness. I did take fresh strawberries and blend till smooth. I placed  a portion size of this mix into small cups and froze them. It did make a great frozen snack with out all of the additional ingredients that you get in store bought. I am trying to find foods that will fill me up and make sure that I am getting in enough protein along with carbohydrates.

I am still getting in my isometric exercises daily. Today I will add in full range of motion to  my exercises. Last night I put together some interesting ingredients to make dinner and it did taste good.

2 cans salmon, 2 tbs. bread crumbs split (made with gluten free bread) 1/2 small red onion minced, 2 stalks celery minced,and  1 egg.  I placed all of this into a blender to mix.  I placed it in a small  loaf pan and sprinkled one tbs. of the bread crumb mixture on top for some crunch. I baked it 350 degrees for 25 minutes. The serving size was 1/8 of the pan or about 3 ounces.

As a side dish  I shredded one small red cabbage, 1/2 small bag carrots, the other half of the small red onion, 2 tablespoons light mayonnaise, 1/2 teaspoon sweet relish, 1/2 teaspoon honey, 1/2 teaspoon mustard, a small sprinkle of pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds along with 1/4 cup dried cranberries.  All was mixed together for a tasty side dish.

Both of the above will last for a few meals. I always try to make items with leftovers because of my busy working schedule.

Leave a Reply

