Getting off all the whites

As I continue this journey of getting back to feeling myself I was instructed by my physician to get off of all whites. Those items include of course sugar, white flour, rice, potatoes, and dairy. As a trainer I  encourage my clients to cut way back on these items but not cut out. Totally cutting out an item makes it a diet. I was following that because of listening to many nutritionists and dietitians stating that each food group has its nutritional benefits. If you use these items occasionally there should be no problems. (yes I do eat brown rice and love sweet potatoes)

 I went to whole foods with my husband just to see what was available for me to eat. (by the way I also had to cut out whole wheat, eggs, nuts, corn and a few other items) Here I am very limited. In general I do read labels but wow what an education reading all of the ingredients not just the first three to four.  Fruits and vegetables are in my diet on a daily basis but not being able to eat whole wheat, nuts or eggs are hitting me hard. I do not eat red meat so that leaves fish, turkey and chicken.

We were able to purchase some foods that we need to experiment with. I did taste some form of nutri-grain bar and after two bites the aftertaste was too much.  This is going to be an interesting journey. I do enjoy cooking so this will now be a learning experience to see what combinations of foods will be satisfying and filling. Yes there are cookbooks available and I already started to look through some of them but none of them have all the restrictions that I am now on. Some of the recipes add in some form of dairy, or wheat ( I did look at gluten free) or they contain eggs or nuts.

I am continuing with my variety of exercises including isometric exercise and getting in my aerobic activity daily. I use all of this for stress reduction and it works.

I am always looking to help out others so now I am asking for your help. What recipes do you have that do not contain wheat, nuts, eggs, meat, any form of whites and will give me the nutrients that a body needs on a daily basis. You can write back here or email me at ellen@isobreathing.com.  I will be happy to pass your recipes on in my newsletter to help out others.

Ellen is a certified Fitness Practitioner and Personal Trainer and has been teaching obtainable lifestyle changes for over 20 years. Ellen writes and produces fitness DVD’s of the IsoBreathing program. The DVD’s are now being sold through the IsoBreathing website at www.isobreathing.com.

Leave a Reply

