Stress- Biopsies and Breathing

 

I am going to speak about the stress of having to have a biopsy the unknown and how breathing can help.  I found out that I had a lump and needed to have a biopsy. I was of course nervous and yes stressed.  The days that lead up to my biopsy I kept myself busy with work, helping others and of course my exercise routine.  Every time my mind wondered to could this be cancer I started to get stressed and went into a mental visualization of a stop sign and did my isobreathing.  ( slow, deep, rhythmic , diaphragmatic breathing with a twist)

The day of my biopsy I took my ipod with me. ( it was a very last minute decision)  I did not want to listen to doctors and or techs talking or the clinking of the instruments on the metal trays. I was so glad that I did take it. As I was lying down on the table the tech was bringing in the instruments. I stared up at the ceiling and put in my earplugs.  I listened to music that my son downloaded for me. I started my isobreathing at that point because I didn’t want my blood pressure to go up.  Yes my heart rate was increased but I looked at the positive and said to myself this is good, I can burn a few extra calories.

The doctor finally came in and we chatted and she wanted to tell me what she was going to do. I told her thank you but no thank you just do what you need to do. I didn’t want the details. I wanted to listen to my music and breathe.  I did find that the music or most of it was what I did like to listen to and it was soothing and did take my mind away.  I closed my eyes and I pictured myself at the beach lying in the sun (of course with sun block on) and under an umbrella,  smelling the salt air and listening to the music with the oceans waves in the background. I was amazed that this really did help.

I am friendly with the cancer centers psychologist and I told him what I did and how amazing it was to mentally be somewhere else.  I did tell him that the hospital should consider purchasing ipods and for anyone going in for a biopsy they should provide this as an extra service.  Music can help soothe the sole.

I was fortunate and the results came back negative but the whole experience did make me think about all of the individuals going through what I did and not knowing what to do. The stress alone can kill you. 

After going through this is when I put together a 15 minute CD Total Body Relaxation to help as many individuals as I possibly can. It is slow deep breathing along with mental visualizations. It also helps individuals relax if they are having problems sleeping, most of the time that is also due to stress.

If you happen to know anyone that has to go through this please pass this article on to them. I know that it will help.  It helped me.

Ellen is a certified Fitness Practitioner and Personal Trainer and has been teaching obtainable lifestyle changes for over 20 years.Ellen writes and produces fitness DVD’s of the IsoBreathing program. The DVD’s are now being sold through the IsoBreathing website world wide.

Ellen writes for her monthly newsletter, North shore wellness and counseling and New Orleans Wedding Magazine. She has been awarded Innovator of the Year 2006 by City Business and 2008 Best in Mandeville  Exercise Programs by USLBA.

Leave a Reply

